ORDC Approves $934,000 for Ohio Short-Line Track Upgrades

ORDC approved $934,000 in state grants to fund seven miles of freight track upgrades across Richland and Guernsey counties for two short lines in Ohio.

ORDC Approves $934,000 for Ohio Short-Line Track Upgrades
October 11, 2026 4:15 pm | Last Update: October 11, 2026 4:16 pm
A+
A-
⚡ In Brief: The Ohio Rail Development Commission approved $934,000 in state grants to co-finance $1.68 million in short-line track rehabilitations across Richland and Guernsey counties in Ohio.

COLUMBUS, UNITED STATES – The Ohio Rail Development Commission (ORDC) authorized grant allocations totaling $934,000 to modernize short-line freight corridors in Richland and Guernsey counties. Ashland Railway secured $744,000 toward a $1.3 million rehabilitation along its Willard Line, while Independence Rail Works Ltd. received $190,000 for a $380,000 track renewal project. The state funding directly supports seven miles of track upgrades across both industrial freight corridors.

How Is the Funding Structured?

State grant capital covers approximately 56 percent of the combined $1.68 million capital expenditure across both approved work scopes. Ashland Railway’s $744,000 grant contributes to Phase 1 of a wider three-phase upgrade spanning 12 miles on the Willard Line, financing the replacement of 7,000 crossties, new tie plates, and fresh ballast over four miles of mainline track that connects directly with Class I carriers Norfolk Southern and CSX. The second award directs $190,000 to Independence Rail Works Ltd., a Zemba Cos. division, covering half of a $380,000 project to renew three miles of track between Derwent and Pleasant City with new ties and 1,500 tons of ballast. Full targeted completion schedules for both work packages were not publicly disclosed by the commission.

Key Funding Data

ParameterValue
Fund / Programme NameORDC Rail Infrastructure Grant Program
Total Value$1.68 million ($934,000 in state grants)
Parties InvolvedOhio Rail Development Commission, Ashland Railway, Independence Rail Works Ltd. (Zemba Cos.)
Timeline / CompletionNot disclosed
Country / CorridorUnited States / Willard Line (Richland County) & Derwent–Pleasant City Branch (Guernsey County)

How Does This Compare to Similar Funding Programs?

State assistance for short-line asset renewal in Ohio remains small in project footprint but crucial for secondary line survival when compared to major commercial freight grants. Previous commission actions show a clear pattern of targeted grant allocations: ORDC committed $1 million to the Indiana & Ohio Railway to fund vertical track clearance undercutting for double-stack intermodal trains, alongside a separate $1 million allocation to JSW Steel USA for internal manufacturing rail logistics (Source: Railway Track and Structures, 2024). While larger ORDC initiatives focus on bridge clearances and primary industrial sidings, short-line track maintenance packages typically require operators to fund between 40 and 50 percent of total costs out of operational cash reserves.

Note: Independent verification of the precise budget allocation comprising the remaining balance of the commission’s broader $1.6 million funding announcement was not available at time of publication.

Editor’s Analysis

These targeted grants highlight how regional public agencies increasingly step in to address deferred maintenance on lower-density feeder lines that Class I carriers rely on for first- and last-mile carload volume. Without state capital assistance, short lines often struggle to justify the capital density required for major track renewal, leading to operational slow orders and interchange bottlenecks. Sustained investment in feeder networks reflects a growing North American emphasis on preserving regional supply chain resilience against highway freight diversion (Source: Straits Research, 2024).

FAQ

Q: What tracks are being upgraded under these ORDC grants?
A: Work focuses on four miles of Ashland Railway’s Willard Line in Richland County and three miles of track operated by Independence Rail Works between Derwent and Pleasant City in Guernsey County.

Q: What percentage of project costs do the state grants cover?
A: The grants fund approximately 57 percent of Ashland Railway’s $1.3 million project and exactly 50 percent of Independence Rail Works’ $380,000 budget.

Q: Which Class I rail networks connect to these upgraded lines?
A: Ashland Railway interchanges direct carload traffic with both Norfolk Southern Railway and CSX Transportation.

Railway infrastructure, rolling stock and transport technologies specialist focused on global rail industry developments, high-speed rail systems, signaling technologies and freight transportation. Covering railway investments, public transport modernization, rail operations and international mobility projects across Europe, Asia and North America.