TfL Expands Step-Free London Underground to 95 Stations

TfL expanded the step-free London Underground network to 95 stations in 2024 by opening a new entrance at Northolt to improve access for disabled passengers.

TfL Expands Step-Free London Underground to 95 Stations
October 9, 2026 8:12 pm | Last Update: October 9, 2026 8:13 pm
A+
A-
⚡ In Brief: London expanded its step-free Underground network to 95 stations after opening Northolt’s entrance, while advancing a commercial partnership at Belgrove House to build a direct step-free portal at King’s Cross St Pancras.

LONDON, UK – Transport for London (TfL) expanded its accessible transit footprint to 95 step-free London Underground stations in 2024 following the commissioning of a new entrance at Northolt. The municipal transit authority has partnered with commercial developers to deliver a new street-level entrance at King’s Cross St Pancras inside the 25,000-square-metre Belgrove House complex. This infrastructure program supports the Mayor’s Transport Strategy, which has already recorded a 43 per cent reduction in average additional travel times for step-free route users since 2016.

What Is the Full Scope of This Project?

The King’s Cross St Pancras redevelopment incorporates an enclosed, naturally illuminated station entrance directly within the Belgrove House commercial scheme to replace two legacy access points permanently closed in 2024. Beyond the King’s Cross portal, TfL’s immediate accessibility portfolio includes civil engineering works to bring full step-free access to Leyton station by spring 2027 and finalise upgrades at Northolt (Source: TfL, 2024). Associated improvements include the installation of accessible, gender-neutral restrooms at Northolt and pilot trials for dedicated calm spaces at Ealing Broadway to assist neurodivergent passengers. The total financial package and civil construction costs for the Belgrove House entrance works were not disclosed by TfL.

Key Project Data

ParameterValue
Project / Contract NameKing’s Cross St Pancras Belgrove House Entrance & Step-Free Program
Total ValueNot disclosed
Parties InvolvedTransport for London (TfL), Greater London Authority (GLA), Whizz Kidz
Timeline / CompletionNortholt (Summer 2024); Leyton (Spring 2027); Belgrove House (Post-2024)
Country / CorridorUnited Kingdom / London Underground Network

How Does This Compare to Similar Projects?

Subterranean accessibility retrofits across London Underground’s deep-level tube lines face far higher capital and spatial hurdles than newer regional networks. Currently, step-free access covers approximately 35 per cent of London Underground’s 272 stations, compared to 100 per cent across the Docklands Light Railway and the Elizabeth line, which transfers to private operators Sumitomo Corporation and Tokyo Metro in May 2025 under a contract running up to 9.5 years (Source: Sumitomo Corporation, 2024). Surface transit maintains higher accessibility ratios, with over 50 per cent of London Overground stops, 100 per cent of TfL’s 9,000-bus fleet, and 94 per cent of its 19,000 bus stops fully barrier-free. Comparable developer-funded station entrance cost breakdowns for peer London interchanges were not publicly available at time of publication.

Editor’s Analysis

Integrating core transit access into private property builds like Belgrove House demonstrates TfL’s reliance on developer contributions to fund expensive station civil works amid constrained public capital budgets. With high-density interchanges handling millions of passenger movements annually, these access portals alleviate peak pedestrian bottlenecks while reducing journey times for passengers with mobility constraints. As private operators assume control of concessions like the Elizabeth line in 2025, parity between modern automated corridors and Victorian-era deep tube infrastructure will remain TfL’s main operational challenge (Source: Sumitomo Corporation, 2024).

FAQ

Q: How many London Underground stations currently have step-free access?
A: The London Underground network currently features 95 step-free stations, representing just over one-third of the total system. The milestone was reached following the completion of new station entrance works at Northolt.

Q: When will Leyton station become step-free?
A: Construction works to deliver step-free access at Leyton station are scheduled for completion in spring 2027. Work at Northolt station was programmed for completion in summer 2024.

Q: How much did the new Belgrove House entrance at King’s Cross cost?
A: The specific construction cost and funding split between TfL and commercial developers have not been officially confirmed. The entrance is being built as an integrated element of the 25,000-square-metre Belgrove House office development.

Railway infrastructure, rolling stock and transport technologies specialist focused on global rail industry developments, high-speed rail systems, signaling technologies and freight transportation. Covering railway investments, public transport modernization, rail operations and international mobility projects across Europe, Asia and North America.